Dorchester Arts: Dorset

—   C O N C E R T S   —

Thursday 20th April 2023, 7:00 pm

St Mary’s Church, Dorchester

Music from the Bach family, with Rachel Podger (violin)


Ticket link will be added when tickets go on sale.
Click here to join our mailing list and be the first to hear when they do!

Corvus Consort presents a programme of vocal works by three members of the Bach family, alongside Rachel Podger performing music for solo violin by J. S. Bach.

The programme showcases the incredible musicality of the extensive Bach family by including, as well as the famous Johann Sebastian, music by brothers Johann Michael and Johann Christoph, who were first cousins of Johann Sebastian’s father Johann Ambrosius. In between the choral works, Rachel Podger performs two of Bach’s stunning works for violin, taken from his sets of three church sonatas and three dance-form partitas.

Johann Michael Bach (1648-1694)

Herr, ich warte auf dein Heil

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Ich lasse dich nicht, BWV Anh. 159

Johann Michael Bach (1648-1694)

Ich weiss dass mein Erlöser lebt

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Sonata No. 1 for solo violin in G minor, BWV 1001

Johann Christoph Bach (1642-1703)

Merk auf, mein Herz

Johann Michael Bach (1648-1694)

Halt, was du hast

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Partita No. 3 for solo violin in E major, BWV 1006

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 227